

Memorandum

To: 2019 Council

From: Dean Wilkerson, JD, MBA, FACEP

Executive Director and Council Secretary

Date: September 17, 2019

Subj: Compensation Committee Report

The Compensation Committee has not yet developed their recommendations for Board member and officer stipends for FY 2019-20. The committee will hold a meeting in Denver on Sunday, October 27, to discuss their recommendations. The committee's recommendations will be discussed by the Board at their meeting on October 30. The Compensation Committee's report will be distributed to the Council as soon as it is available. The Council will also be informed if the Board does not adopt the Compensation Committee's recommendations.

The basis for the Compensation Committee resides in the ACEP Bylaws, Article XI – Committees, Section 7 – Compensation Committee:

College officers and members of the Board of Directors may be compensated, the amount and manner of which shall be determined annually by the Compensation Committee. This committee shall be composed of the chair of the Finance Committee plus four members of the College who are currently neither officers nor members of the Board of Directors. The Compensation Committee chair, the Finance Committee chair, plus one other member shall be presidential appointments and two members shall be appointed by the speaker. Members of this committee shall be appointed to staggered terms of not less than two years.

The recommendations of this committee shall be submitted annually for review by the Board of Directors and, if accepted, shall be reported to the Council at the next annual meeting. The recommendations may be rejected by a three-quarters vote of the entire Board of Directors, in which event the Board must determine the compensation or request that the committee reconsider. In the event the Board of Directors chooses to reject the recommendations of the Compensation Committee and determine the compensation, the proposed change shall not take effect unless ratified by a majority of councillors voting at the next annual meeting. If the Council does not ratify the Board's proposed compensation, the Compensation Committee's recommendation will then take effect.

The current officer and non-officer stipends are:

President	\$139,933
President-Elect	\$101,759
Chair	\$ 33,713
Vice President	\$ 33,713
Secretary-Treasurer	\$ 33,713
Immediate Past President	\$ 33,713
Speaker	\$ 33,713
Vice Speaker	\$ 17,371
Non-Officer Board Members	\$ 10,428

HEADQUARTERS

Post Office Box 619911 Dallas, Texas 75261-9911

4950 W Royal Ln Irving, TX 75063-2524

972**-**550-0911 800-798-1822

www.acep.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Vidor E. Friedman, MD. FACEP President William P. Jaquis, MD, FACEP President-Flect Stephen H. Anderson, MD, FACEP Chair of the Roard Jon Mark Hirshon, MD, MPH, PhD, FACEP Vice President Mark S. Rosenberg, DO, MBA, FACEP Secretary-Treasurer Paul D. Kivela, MD, MBA, FACEP Immediate Past President James J. Augustine MD. FACEP L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP John T. Finnell II, MD, MSc, FACEP Alison J. Haddock, MD, FACEP Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP Kevin M. Klauer, D.O. F.ID. FACEP Aisha T. Liferidge, MD, MPH, FACEP Debra G. Perina, MD, FACEP Gillian R. Schmitz, MD, FACEP

COUNCIL OFFICERS

John G. McManus, Jr, MD, MBA, FACEP Speaker Gary R. Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP Vice Speaker

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dean Wilkerson, JD, MBA, CAE